ALL INDIA GEM AND JEWELLERY DOMESTIC COUNCIL

PROMOTING • PROTECTING • PROGRESSING

1501 & 1502, 15th Floor, Panchratna Building, Mama Parmanand Marg, Opera House, Charni Road East, Mumbai 400004

Tel: 91-22-6738 2700 • Fax: 91-22-6738 2706 • Email: info@gic.org.in • Website: www.gic.org.in

CIN U91990MH2005NPL 154999





ANNOUNCEMENT FOR ELECTION OF COA -2024

All India Gem and Jewellery Domestic Council (hereinafter referred to as "GJC") hereby announces the elections for the term 2025-2026, in the manner outlined herein.

Pursuant to the resolution dated 3rd October,2024, the COA appointed the Election committee to formulate the Election Rules for the election of the Committee of Administration ("CoA"), Chairman and Vice Chairman of All India Gem & Jewellery Domestic Council. The Election Committee was also tasked with identifying the scope and eligibility of the respective panels or combined panels authorized to contest in the election, in accordance with the Company's Articles of Association ("AOA").

On 18th November, 2024 at 12.00 PM, the Committee of Administration ("COA") of GJC convened a meeting at the registered office of the Company, located at 1501 & 1502, Panchratna Co-operative Society Ltd. MP Marg, Opera House, Charni Road, Mumbai – 400004 to discuss and adopt the Election Rules for the upcoming elections.

The Election Committee presented the proposed Election Rules, 2024 for the Election of the CoA, Chairman, and Vice Chairman of All India Gem & Jewellery Domestic Council at the CoA meeting held on 18th November, 2024. The CoA reviewed and adopted the Election Rules, 2024 with certain amendments. Following this, a resolution was passed to proceed with the election in accordance with the Articles of Associations ("AOA") and the rules established thereunder.

Further, the CoA appointed Advocate Bankim Mehta as the Returning Officer to oversee the election process.

During the CoA meeting on 18th November, 2024, Adv. Bankim Mehta explained the election process as stipulated in the AOA and the Election Rules. Adv. Bankim Mehta further informed the COA that, pursuant to Article 33.8(b) of the AOA, members of the COA who have served a continuous period of six years are required to mandatorily retire and shall not be eligible for re-election. As a result, the following members, along with their respective Panels, are mandated to retire in the 2024 election cycle and are not eligible for re-election:

Sr.	Names	Panel
No.		
1.	Mohanlal Jain	Small Retailer
2.	S. Abdul Nazar	Small Retailer
3.	Kamal Singhania	Medium Retailer

Further, in accordance with Article 33.8 (a) of the AOA, it is stipulated that one-third of the members of the COA are required to retire by rotation. Further, pursuant to the provisions of the Companies Act, 2013, the members of the COA who have served the longest tenure shall be the first to be considered for retirement.

The eligible members for retirement were determined through a draw of cards, which was conducted in compliance with the AOA. The draw of cards was duly carried out by Adv. Bankim Mehta in a fair and transparent manner, with the presence of CoA members as well as the members of Election Committee. The process was fully documented and recorded for transparency.

Based on the results of the draw of cards, the following CoA members have been identified, in accordance with the applicable Election Rules and the AOA, as those who will retire by rotation:

Sr.	Name of	Company Name	Zone	Panel
No	Member			
1	Samar Kumar De	Guinea Emporium	East	Medium Retailer
2	Dr. B. Govindan	Bhima Jewellery	South	Large Retailer
3	Suresh Dhruv	Bangalore Refinery	South	Precious Metal
		Pvt. Ltd.		Bullion & Refinery

In accordance with the AOA and the Election Rules, 2024 the members identified for retirement by rotation, as previously outlined, are eligible for re-election.

However, pursuant to the AOA and Election Rules, Mr. Suresh Dhruv, whose name was drawn for retirement by rotation, will not be eligible to contest the election, as he is currently serving as a member of the Election Committee and the fact that there are no vacant seats in the Panel he represent namely, Precious Metal Bullion & Refinery Panel. This restriction is in place to maintain the integrity and impartiality of the election process.

In addition to the vacancies arising from the retirement of the aforementioned members, two (2) additional vacancies have been identified

- 1. One (1) vacancy for the position of Chairman.
- 2. One (1) vacancy due to the resignation of Mr. Dinesh Jain, a member of the COA.

The Election Committee has accordingly identified these vacancies, for which elections will be conducted. The existing number of CoA Members, along with the vacant positions, is as follows:

Panels	Reservati ons		Vacancies arising due to retirement of 1/3 rd members.
Large Retailer	3	2	1
Medium Retailer	4	1	3
Small Retailer	4	1	3
Medium Manufacturer -	2	2	0
Jewellery			
Small & Medium Manufacturer-	1	1	0
Silver Jewellery (32) & Small &			
Medium Manufacturer-Colour			
Stones (23) & Allied (88) &			
Precious Metal Bullion &			
Refinery (13) & Lab Grown			
Diamond (1)	_	_	_
Small Manufacturer-Jewellery	2	2	0
Large Manufacturer Diamond	1	1	0
(24) & Large Manufacturer			
Jewellery (150)			
Small & Medium Wholesaler	2	2	0
Large Wholesaler	1	0	1
Total	20	12	8

** In accordance with the AOA, a member cannot file their candidacy for the position of Zonal Chairman from a Panel that does not have any vacancies. The Panels mentioned above have been constituted based on the number of members in each Panel, and in certain instances, Panels have been merged to form a combined Panel, as permitted under the AOA.

In light of this, we would like to inform you that elections will be held for total eight (8) vacant seats across four (4) respective Panels, which include the position of Zonal Chairman for the South Zone. The election for the Zonal Chairman (South Zone) will be conducted prior to the elections for the other members of the Panel.

The election schedule, as finalised, is as follows:

Sr.	Activity	Date of Activity
No.		
1.	Publication for verification of eligible Electoral Rolls/Membership Register, Panel and Zone wise.	Thursday, 21st November, 2024
2.	Last date for filing objections for amendment/addition/deletion of electoral rolls	Saturday, 23 rd November, 2024
3.	Publication of final Electoral Rolls/Membership Register, Panel and Zone wise.	Monday, 25 th November, 2024
4.	Applications for filing Nominations for elections open from	Tuesday, 26 th November, 2024
5.	Applications for Nominations to close	Saturday, 30 th November, 2024
6.	Publication of list of valid nominations received	Tuesday, 3 rd December, 2024
7.	Withdrawal of Nominations	Wednesday & Thursday, 4th December-5 th December, 2024
8.	Publication of final list of contestants	Friday, 6 th December, 2024
9.	Campaigning dates	Friday 6 th December, 2024 to Thursday 12 th December, 2024
10.	e-Voting to begin	Friday, 13 th December, 2024
11.	e-Voting to end	Monday, 16 th December, 2024
12.	Opening of electronic ballot, counting and declaration of results	Wednesday, 18 th December, 2024

The details and information on the scheduled election and Election Rules, 2024 will be published and updated through our website www.gjc.org.in.

You may contact us on 022-67382700 or memberships@gjc.org.in for any query.

For All India Gem and Jewellery Domestic Council

Sd/-Amit Kumar Soni Election Committee Convenor